A picture is worth a thousand words?

It’s been very quiet in our corner of blogland for the last few weeks, partly due to secret sewing deadlines but mainly due to a particularly crappy run of ill-health for both me and Jess. This is a flying visit to provide proof of life (if you need it). I’m also feeling a little philosophical today. I’ve heard the phrase “a picture is worth a thousand words” many times and I usually agree with that sentiment, however, today I’m sharing a picture that I think deserves an explanation. This is our gorgeous Jess. Today she managed to get dressed for the first time in almost 3 weeks. What this photo doesn’t show is the tachycardia and dizziness that she is experiencing from sitting upright and the constant pain in all her joints. It also doesn’t show you that immediately after this was taken she had to lie down and has remained in a reclining position for the rest of the day.

Jess

We’re no strangers to chronic ill-health, our family is riddled with it, long term readers will know that myself, Jess and Yvonne all struggle to varying degrees on a daily basis. I’m not posting for sympathy, rather to remind myself and others that life may look shiny and perfect in photographs but they are merely a snapshot. If you know someone who suffers from a chronic health condition I would encourage you never to say “but you don’t look sick”, “you look well” or any other derivative. It’s a sure fire way to increase their blood pressure and potentially cost you a place on their Christmas cards list. Instead you could consider telling them that you like their outfit or their hair or some other compliment that acknowledges the effort they have made to look fabulous despite feeling like shit. This has turned into more of a rant than I had intended and I was going to edit it but I actually feel a lot better for getting this off my chest so I’m leaving it as is. I couldn’t leave on a negative note so here’s a photo of the first rose that bloomed in our garden a couple of weeks ago.

IMG_1431

I hope you all have a good weekend. I’m hoping to return to share some actual sewing progress in the near future. Catch you soon x

7 thoughts on “A picture is worth a thousand words?

  1. Maemi says:

    She is so beautiful ❀ and brave. You both are so blessed to have each other! πŸ™‚
    Thank you for the sound advice, it is often that we forget to filter our thoughts and remain empathetic. May God bless you both ❀

    P.s. Such a splendid rose.

    Like

Leave a Reply

