Completion

I’ve been jumping between projects in the sewing room over the past few weeks. It’s been increasingly difficult to stick with any one project through to completion. This weekend I was determined to remedy that!

Earlier this Summer I bought a very cute Oliver + S pattern called Sketchbook shirt and shorts from The Village Haberdashery with the intention of making a little of outfit for my nephew, Mackinlay. I had the perfect fabric in mind for the shirt – the adverts print from Rocket Age by October Afternoon for Riley Blake. I’ve been putting it off because, frankly, I wasn’t sure my dressmaking skills were up to the challenge. My fears were unfounded! It is a fantastic pattern, really clear and non-scary and the end result is a very professional looking shirt πŸ™‚

I went for the short-sleeved, rounded collar version and didn’t bother with a pocket for the minimum of stress.

My pattern matching is non-existent but I figured it’s such a busy print I can get away with it. There’s a fancy box-pleat at the back of the shirt which makes it feel very fancy πŸ™‚

As a finishing touch, I added in some cute train buttons as Mackinlay is rather fond of “choo-choos”.

Β I handed the shirt over to the little-man himself this afternoon and he responded in just the right way with a big toothy grin and abandonment of his toy so that he could carry his new shirt home himself. All that effort was definitely worthwhile πŸ™‚ Catch you soon x

5 thoughts on “Completion

Leave a Reply

