Liberated sewing

This weekend I gave myself some much needed time off from quilt making and deadlines πŸ™‚ Instead I turned my hand to sewing clothes. I’ve always been mind-boggled by the process of dressmaking and my past attempts at it have mainly been child sized. Last year I bought a heap of Sew Liberated patterns from BackstitchΒ and vowed I’d get a grip on dressmaking. Since then the patterns have mainly been gathering dust on my shelf. I finally bit the bullet and opened up the Esme top pattern

…it wasn’t long before I had all the pieces cut out and ready to go πŸ™‚ I had a large cut of Liberty, that Mum had bought me in the New Year sales last year, that was perfect!

The highlight of this pattern is it comes with a detailed step-by-step video! I honestly can’t recommend it highly enough! All the gobbledygook (to me, anyway) written instructions were sidelined for the videos, and within 2 sewing sessions Jess has a new top! It is not perfect by any stretch of the imagination but I think it’s fair to say that Jess will be able to wear it out in public without people laughing at the homemade top she’s wearing.

Β The buttonholes were a bit squiffy but it’s not too obvious now the the buttons are in place and the pattern almost matches πŸ™‚

Β I love the lines of this top. The sleeves are so pretty with their cuffs.

I felt particularly smug when Jess tried it on for me, (excuse the pouty teenage face, not best pleased at being roped into a photo shoot), because it fits!

Spurred on by this success I have spent this afternoon cutting out another pattern, for myself this time, but that can wait for another day πŸ™‚ Catch you soon x

12 thoughts on “Liberated sewing

  1. margaret says:

    wow you really have the pattern matching down the front, that could not have been easy to do. I used to make all my clothes but since the sewing bug got me in 1990 have not done so, mind you I am still wearing clothes I have had for years.

    Like

Leave a Reply

