Swooning on two counts

I’m so excited to be able to share with you my finished Swoon quilt!! It looks quite small on the washing line but in reality it is over 6 foot tall and wide. Just to recap, the background fabric is Medium grey kona. The prints in the Swoon blocks are from Ty Pennington’s Impressions range and the coordinating solids are by Klona.

I backed the quilt with a print from Ikea framed with the medium grey kona.
I reaffirmed my new love for hand quilting with perle cottons and did quite extensive echo quilting in different shades to add a bit more interest.
I bound with a dusky pink herringbone print by Joel Dewberry (thanks to John Lewis and their mega sale). Here she is all pretty in place on our bed with the coordinating cushions I made for the Intrepid Thread newsletter. You can safely assume that I am chuffed to bits!
My other cause for Swooning was the fabulous Valentine gift hubby bestowed on me! If you read this you will know how much I longed for a Major Morgan as a child. Well, my lovely hubby only tracked down an original, boxed Major Morgan for me!!! I was instantly about 7 years old again when I started playing with it on Valentine’s evening. Childhood dream fulfilled, thanks to hubby!
I couldn’t resist showing you how fantastic he looks next to the amazing replica that Lynz made for me in the I heart the 80s swap last year. That girl has some serious skills!!
After all that swooning I need a lie down πŸ˜‰ Catch you soon x
10 thoughts on “Swooning on two counts

  1. Lynz says:

    I knew that swoon quilt would be just gorgeous! And you can't beat a photo of a quilt on a bed! I am also laughing at you now having TWO Major Morgans! Bless your husband's heart!

    Like

Leave a Reply

