Bragging

First things first….look what I got!! Woohoo! All the way from Australia Aneela Hoey’s new line A walk in the woods. Mum and I were beyond excited to be able to have these goodies in our hands so early….hooray for Twitter 🙂 Don’t expect to see anything made with these for a while as I’m just going to enjoy looking at them and stroking them for now 😉
I got on and finished the cushion for my Brit Quilt partner today and here I go bragging again…I love it! I umm-ed and ahh-ed over the best course of action to show off the paper piecing and finally decided a neutral frame with simple quilting would do the trick.
I used a variegated blue thread from Aurifil that Lynne sent me a few weeks ago 🙂 Yay! It’s great, quite a thick thread that I’m guessing is more suitable for hand sewing but it worked a treat in my machine even if I did end up with fluff everywhere afterwards. I echo quilted the hexagon several times and left it at that.
The label is nothing fancy but I decided to leave it visible on the back of the cushion rather than hide it on the inside.
So with the Brit Quilt cushion completed I gave myself leave to do a little sewing for home. Carol sent me a fabulous Christmas Tree Skirt pattern, with ‘me in fabric’, so what better project to bring some fabric-y cheer to our home during the festive period. I’m using Sweetwater’s Countdown to Christmas and I’ve got a feeling this will be well loved for many years! Thanks Carol.
Catch you soon 🙂 xx
8 thoughts on “Bragging

Leave a Reply

